A is for Agency!

 

Brooklyn Hargraves

Agency 481

brook 2.jpg

“Hey, what classes are you taking Winter Quarter?!” I shoot a text to my fellow public relations friend.

“Oh I was thinking of taking Agency!” she responds.

“What the heck is Agency?” I ask.

“It’s this class where you’re put on a team with other students and work for a business in Ellensburg…I think,” she answers.

Alright, let’s give it a shot.

I’ll be honest, when first registering for Agency, I was nervous and hesitant about what the class entailed and what I would be doing with these so called “teams” I was told about.

I mean, its two credits so how hard could it be right?

Being part of the Central Communication Agency, we’re all put to the test because of how hands-on it is. We’re all working with an actual client instead of working for some hypothetical company in other classes.

Like, these clients could actually fire us, in real life.

If that’s not intimidating then I don’t know what is.

I think with every PR student there’s that first initial thought of, ‘Will I even be good at PR? Do I actually know what I’m doing?’ I’ll be the first one to admit that these thoughts have ran across my mind more than once.

In PR core classes we’re all taught crucial and essential skills that are needed to be successful in the workplace, however, there’s a big difference between doing book work and doing actual work for businesses around the community.

It’s easy to bust out a press release and write a quick essay, but it’s 20x more challenging when you’re writing a press release or drafting up a plan for an actual real life company.

Because Agency is so hands-on, you’re given a small taste of what it’s like to work for a real PR agency. We’re interacting and communicating with actual clients while setting up and drafting things that they could potentially use to help promote their business.

Joining Agency has easily been one of the best decisions I’ve made while being a PR major, hands down.

Since joining, I have learned more about myself and what I’m capable of doing as an aspiring PR professional. I’ve learned the importance of teamwork, time management and how to multitask a billion things at once, while making the client happy of course.  

Would I recommend this class to anyone wanting an easy A? Absolutely not.

Would I recommend this class to anyone wanting to gain beneficial hands-on PR experience? Absolutely.

Agency is more than just a class, it’s interacting with other PR professionals and coming together as a team to help benefit and enhance the success of other businesses in Ellensburg. It’s about putting your skills that you’ve learned from previous classes to the test.

I’m now excited for Tuesday afternoons to work with my team and obtain new experiences and skills that I can later bring with me to the professional sector.

 

Tags: CWU, Central Washington University, Agency, Public Relations, PR

 

Leave a Reply

