Finding a Job Out of State

written by: Erin Babcock, SAS for CWU College of Arts and Humanities

Adventure is waiting

I have always been an adventurous person. I have always wanted to pick up and leave 200_sWashington the only home I have ever known just for the sake of something new. When I was a Junior, I wanted to move to San Diego after graduation and start a new life down there. No not because I am running away or anything but just for the sake of trying out somewhere new, for the adventure of it all. I am 21 years young, graduating this June with a Bachelors Degree, this is the perfect time in my life to pick up and move somewhere else and experience it. Grow as a person, grow in my career field, and have an adventure of a life time. So what if I do it for a year, hate it and move home? Well, at least I did it. I will never look back on my life when I am old and regret going, but I will regret not going if I don’t.

Finding A job

As you are going through schooling especially in Public Relations but this goes for any degree. Networking is KEY. Networking is how you find jobs, and how you get professional feedback on your resume, cover letters, or even just what you should know coming out into the real world that you were not taught in school. Well, Networking is the easy part but when your network is based out of Seattle, it is really hard to find a job out of state because their network is usually in Seattle also, maybe you’ll luck out and get a lead or two but one thing I wish I had done sooner was try and network out of state before my last quarter or school.

003b8a2

The right way to apply

What I have found on this journey is that there are back doors to job applications, and the RB-Meme-300x300best way to get into a company that you are no where near is to use your LinkedIn to your advantage. First, connect to anyone you can in the company. Then, if anyone accepts your connection sometimes they will message you first (this happened to me twice) and ask how your connected or even send you their e-mail and ask you to e-mail you their cover letter and resume if you are interested in their company. Either way, most of the time their e-mail becomes public once you are connected with them so they shoot them a professional e-mail stating your interest in the company, let them know you are interested in relocating and are capable of relocating. I have yet to find a company that is willing to pay for a relocation of someone for an entry level position. That being said, I am sure they are out there but I have not found one yet. Don’t forget to mention in your e-mail that you were wondering if there are any entry level positions available. Usually, they reply within a couple days and they will view your LinkedIn first, and then probably ask you to send them your Cover letter and Resume for review or for them to pass it on to their hiring manager.

That right there put you in a better position because you networked, and connected to an employee who then took their time to e-mail you. You resume is a lot closer to the top of the pile now, instead of if you were to just apply online and hope someone picks it out of the 50 other people applying to the same position. That is your in.

3geGI5n

The Interview Process

tumblr_nxbe8zqLSw1qj4315o1_500.gif

The Interview process is always nerve racking. Don’t get discouraged when your first company doesn’t work out, or maybe it does. The first interview process I started I did not make it pasted the first interview, admittedly. But, that IS going to happen, you are not everyone’s cup of tea. Be prepared especially if you are also studying Public Relations for an interview that is APA writing test. Some interviews start with those. The one I took was a grammar test and then you had to write a press release and a media kit all of which were completed within an hour and fifteen minutes. Which seems simple but the time pressure was the hardest part. Since you are not in the same state as your potential employer this means Skype interviews, and lots of them. Which could be a good or a bad thing. I would rather do a skype interview over an in person interview because I view them as less intimidating, but not everyone sees it that way. Just be prepared for them. Have questions ready for them. Ask about the company, their background, what they recommend you should know before stepping into the real world, feed their egos. But, also show your personality, your background is important, your education and work experience are being judged but so is your personality, you must be a good fit for their company so don’t be afraid to be yourself, but also be professional. Let you shine through.

When it comes down to it

Graduation is fast approaching, and you may or may not have a job lined up. You have some important decisions to make. Do you sell everything and relocate to a furnished place or pack everything and take it with you? Everything you probably have is hand me downs because you were a broke college kid but now your an adult, and this is a new chapter so you have decisions to make. Do some research, know your budget base it of the lower line of your potential salary. Do some research to know the buffer, an entry level Public Relations Professional usually makes between

200_s

30,000-42,000 a year. Base your budget off 30,000 just to be safe. Make your rent budget, statistics show that in order to live comfortably then you should be making 2.5 times you rent in order to have room for a rainy day fund, or savings accounts, or just to have play money and not be stressed. Take that into consideration when apartment hunting.

You also have to have a back up plan. If you don’t get a job offer do you settle for a different job just to get you down there. If you just get a job to get you down to a new location it could make it easier for you to obtain a job since you are already there and they would not have to wait for you to relocate. Then, again it is sketchy to move somewhere new with a non-sense job when you have a degree. For me I could use the summer to find a job, and that provides me with three more months to hopefully nail down something. Since I have a good paying job here, and my lease does not end until August. Or I could continue my search down in Vegas (my ideal location) and work at a Bar or something until I find one. Anything could happen.

las-vegas-animated-gif-19

Leave a Reply

