Advice to new CCA Members

Written by: Jairo Mariscal, SAS for the Ellensburg Downtown Association 

Working at the Central Communications Agency has been an amazing experience that I will carry with me for a long time. The work is intense, and its pretty hard to put that down on paper. It’s challenging and requires a lot of time. Through CCA I have also had the pleasure of working with so many talented professionals, many of them being my own peers.

Being involved with the CCA is probably one of the greatest things I have ever gotten involved with/thrown into. I started  off as an Associate Account Executive in the spring of 2015 and later applied to move up to a Senior Account Supervisor in the Fall of 2015.

When I became an SAS, it also meant that I had to shoulder more responsibility. These responsibilities now included direct communication with a client, updates and managing a small group. Clear communication became an important part of my life.

Working with a client was also brand new to me, but its an amazing experience! The client was so perceptive of all of the ideas that the team and I came up with. I’m not going to say that working for my client was easy, but there will always be something to work with or work your way around. If Public Relations has taught me anything, its to always be on my feet.

If there is any advice I would give out to any new PR students is that communication is key to everything. We are taught the tools of the trade, but no one teaches you how to communicate. Through all of my experiences with the CCA, peers, and clients I learned how to be a better communicator.

There will always be something new to learn in the PR profession. There is going to be a lot of information to know and there will always be a lot going on. Don’t be afraid of taking more responsibility, its all just a part of the job.

Leave a Reply

