Basket Weaving Workshop Comes to CWU

Written by: Aubree Downing, Account Executive for the Museum of Culture and Environment

Source: www.gourmetgiftbaskets.com/All-About-Weaving-Baskets.asp
Source: http://www.gourmetgiftbaskets.com/All-About-Weaving-Baskets.asp

Before I went to college I remember my family and friends joking with me about the type of classes I would be taking. During these conversations someone would never fail to bring up the possibility of taking basket weaving 101. This joke was always met with laughs and smiles as I would brush it off and give a cheeky comment about it being my lifelong ambition. While I understand why schools never did, I have to admit that I was actually a little sad that none of the colleges I went to offered a class on this skill. (This was more of the fact that I just wanted to say that I had done it.) So this should come to no shock as to how excited I was to hear that the Museum of Culture and Environment at Central Washington University would be having a workshop on Basket Weaving Saturday, May 9 from 11:00 a.m. – 2:00p.m. at Dean Hall.

While this workshop may seem like its coming out of left field it actually correlates with their current exhibit “Binding Culture: Living Landscapes and Material Life in Northern Luzon, Philippines.” Binding Culture features indigenous textiles and basketry from the Cordillera region of Northern Luzon. The objects on display give a glimpse into a world that many of us have not been exposed to. I myself have seen Binding Culture and have to say that the baskets and textiles are a sight to behold.

I understand that some of you who are reading this blog may have never had a chance to set foot in the Museum of Culture and Environment so I will share with you some history on it. The museum has been at Central for the last five years and in that time it has brought to the students as well as the community many different exhibits that inspire people to think and see the world around them. Running on a quarter system, the museum tends to change its exhibits every three months. This last exhibit of the museum talked about poverty, addiction, and homelessness. The museum is open Wednesday – Friday from 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and Saturday – 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and admission is free to all.

I hope that you all are able to stop by the workshop this Saturday as well as get a chance to check out the Museum of Culture and Environment. For more information about the museum make sure to check out their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/CWUmuseum?fref=ts or their website: http://www.cwu.edu/museum/.

Leave a Reply

