PR: “So, what do you want to do with that?”

Written by: Jonece Tallant, Associate Director for HR

When you ask a group of Public Relations students what it is that they want to do with their degree, a good amount of them are probably going to say that they want to be a publicist to the stars. This statement is usually what helps other people understand what public relations is.

So, why do so many want to go into entertainment?

TheHillsAs I was reading an article on PR Daily, “Glamour? Ha! The realities of entertainment and fashion PR”, they mentioned the MTV show, The Hills. In this show, it shows main characters partying it up with big name entertainers. I admit, I watched The Hills. And for a short time, pretty religiously. I thought that entertainment PR was the greatest job ever. I was young, naïve, and sucked in by “reality” shows. I was also wrong.

The truth:

Working in entertainment PR is incredibly competitive. There are too few spots for too many people. Even when you make it into the field, it’s non-stop. Everything a celebrity does is considered news. You’re always working so hey, that cool vacation all your friends are going on? Nope, sit back down, you have to work.

You also have to pay attention to details. Many people don’t think this is such a big deal, they’re big picture people. They’re also wrong. Spelling a name wrong and having the media pick it up with the incorrect spelling? Disaster. You have to care about your work. Put the effort in your work so it’s top tier all the time. If your work looks sloppy, it reflects on you. Step it up.

What I learned

From my own student perspective, I’ve learned that I don’t think I would be able to keep up in the fast paced world of entertainment PR. I needed to take a step back and really think about what I wanted to do with my PR degree. I’ve learned that I like colleges and universities so logically, I would probably flourish in higher education PR.

Van Wilder, anyone?

Links:

http://www.prdaily.com/Main/Articles/10701.aspx

http://prnewpros.prsa.org/the-truth-about-entertainment-pr-three-common-myths-that-need-busting/

Leave a Reply

